Team List

Executive Leadership Team

Louis Borders

Founder & CEO

Louis is the founder of HDS and was a founder of Borders Books & Music, Synergy Software, and Webvan. Louis revolutionized the retail book industry with the founding of Borders, the first book and music superstore chain. Borders successfully leveraged technology to improve the delivery of physical media to consumers. Louis sold his interest in Borders in 1993; at its peak, the company had annual revenues of $3.5 billion. In 1998, he founded Webvan, an online home delivery retailer, and served as its CEO until its successful IPO; the company achieved a peak market value of $7 billion. Louis holds a B.A. in Mathematics from the University of Michigan, and completed graduate coursework in mathematics at MIT.

Jim Liefer

President and COO

Jim brings more than 40 years of operational leadership and technology development experience from established Fortune 50 companies to Silicon Valley startups. Previously, Jim served as the CEO and President of Kindred AI and a member of their Board of Directors. He successfully led the company from pre-product design concepts to a fully functioning, customer facing organization, that proudly serves large global retailers with real AI powered robotic solutions in production fulfillment centers. Prior to Kindred, Jim was COO at One Kings Lane, where he supported three years of consecutive year-over-year growth of more than 100 percent. Earlier in his career, he was vice president of operations for, responsible for large teams, and identifying and implementing processes and systems that could scale and continually improve efficiency. Jim formerly held positions in technology banking and software applications, including roles as vice president of software applications at Fritz Companies, Inc. and United Parcel Service.

Steve Toebes

Chief Robotics Officer

Steve brings over 20 years experience in the robotics, automation, and semiconductor industries. Previously, Steve co-founded NextShift Robotics, a mobile robotics company serving e-commerce order fulfillment. Prior to NextShift, Steve was CPO for Humatics, focused on microlocation and navigation technology for industrial robotics. Steve has held senior leadership roles at Rethink Robotics, Harvest Automation and was part of the founding and leadership team, as well as head of robotics at Symbotic, an industry pioneer and leader in the use of mobile robots in warehouse order fulfillment. He is a member of the Georgia Tech Institute for Robotics & Intelligent Machines (IRIM) Advisory Board & sits on the American Society of Mechanical Engineers Robotics Technology Advisory Panel. Steve has an M.S. in Mechanical Engineering from Northeastern University.

Monique Apter

SVP, Sales

Monique brings over 25 years bringing technology and automation solutions to the enterprise with specific emphasis on innovative, disruptive technologies that change how we do business. Prior to RoboFS, she was with Kindred providing AI robotic solutions to help retailers compete in the ecommerce market. She has also held leadership positions with Rethink Robotics, DZS and Segway where she helped commercialize the first recognized personal transportation device. Monique served on the board of The Association for Passive Optical LAN (APOLAN) where she helped guide marketing initiatives to educate enterprise customers on the benefits of fiber technology. Monique has an M.A. in Psychology from the University of Delaware.

Board of Directors

Ken Beyer

Ken Beyer serves as EVP & President, Ingram Micro Commerce & Lifecycle Services (“CLS”) and is responsible for the strategy, growth and delivery of the business globally. CLS is a leading global provider of supply chain and e-commerce logistics services that power growth for brands, retailers, operators and enterprises. Ken joined the company in September 2013 when Ingram Micro acquired CloudBlue Technologies, where Ken was the co-founder and CEO. Ken graduated from Kansas State University with a degree in Architectural Engineering.

Craig A. Leavitt

Craig A. Leavitt is the former CEO of Kate Spade. Kate Spade was acquired by Coach in a $2.4 billion deal in May 2017. Craig currently serves on several Boards of Directors. He is Non-Executive Chairman of Build-A-Bear Workshop, Inc., Director for Crate and Barrel, Gildan, and The Roundabout Theatre Company. Prior to joining Kate Spade, Craig was President of Global Retail at Link Theory Holdings where he had total responsibility for merchandising, operations, planning, allocation and real estate for the Theory and Helmut Lang retail businesses. Previously, he spent several years at Diesel, most recently as Executive Vice President of Sales and Retail. Craig also spent 16 years at Polo Ralph Lauren, where he held positions of increasing responsibility, including Executive Vice President of Retail Concepts.

Sujeet Chand

Sujeet Chand is the CTO of Rockwell Automation, the world’s largest company dedicated to industrial automation and information. He is responsible for leading technical innovation, product architecture, and global business development including an ecosystem of strategic alliances and partnerships. His leadership has been instrumental in the transformation of Rockwell Automation from a traditional industrial manufacturing company to a technology company. Sujeet received the prestigious M. Eugene Merchant Medal from the Society of Manufacturing Engineers (SME) and American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME) for “contributions to the science and engineering of smart manufacturing” in 2019, and the Forbes Excellence in Innovation award for “connecting manufacturing technology with business IT systems to create a Connected Enterprise,” in 2014. He currently holds 54 patents, has published more than 75 technical papers in research journals and conferences, and has received a number of distinguished honors for his engineering practices and technology leadership. Sujeet earned a Doctor of Philosophy degree in Electrical and Computer Engineering and a master’s degree in Electrical Engineering from the University of Florida.